Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Transfer Center for Policy & Resources Statewide Transfer & Accreditation Info

About Transfer Pathway Agreements & Processes

Statewide Transfer & Accreditation Information

WSU subscribes to the “Policy on Intercollege Transfer and Articulation Among Washington Public Colleges and Universities” endorsed by the public colleges and universities of Washington and the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and published by the Washington Student Achievement Council. The information and resources below will provide more context and information about various statewide transfer policies and procedures.

The Intercollege Relations Committee Handbook and Policies: contains helpful information on the following topics.

  • Policy on Intercollege Transfer and Articulation among Washington public colleges and universities (Pg. 7).
  • Community colleges in Washington with a direct transfer degree that meets ICRC guidelines (Pg. 22).
  • Associate degree transfer Courses that are generally accepted (Pg. 24).
  • Restricted subject areas for transfer (the “gray area list”) (Pg. 28).

Washington Student Achievement Council Transfer Student Rights and Responsibilities: explains the rights and responsibilities that each transfer student has as they interact with their institution in the credit transfer process.

State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

The SBCTC is governed by a nine-member Governor-appointed board responsible for administering the Community and Technical College Act and providing leadership and coordination for Washington’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges. The SBCTC includes information on transfer degrees, transfer resources, and reverse articulation.

Regional Accreditation

The organizations granting regional accreditation to higher education institutions include:

Northwest Commission of Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Utah

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. Commission on High Education (MSA-CHE)
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)
Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges (SACS)
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas

Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC)
California, Guam, Hawaii